Congrats to E&I Staff Receiving Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award

November 28, 2018

Dear colleagues,

When people think of Berkeley’s mission of teaching, research, and public service, their minds often instinctively turn only to professors and students in lecture halls and labs. Yet the efforts of thousands of dedicated, passionate, and enterprising campus staff play an equally important role in helping us achieve our goals.

Today, I am proud to announce the winners of the Chancellor’s Outstanding Staff Award (COSA), acknowledging staff members whose thoughtfulness, initiative, and drive has led to significant positive impact within the Berkeley community. The award, given to individuals and teams for projects undertaken within the last three years, is among our campus’ highest honors. It is one of the ways in which we hope to show our deep appreciation for your contributions.

Please join me in honoring and thanking the eleven staff members and nine staff teams, listed below, who were selected to receive the 2018 award. I hope you will also visit the COSA website for in-depth descriptions of this year’s recipients’ work; their stories vividly show that the success of our institution is not so much the result of any sweeping action, but rather the sum of many individual acts of ingenuity and ambition.

If you’re able to watch, this year’s COSA winners will be recognized in a livestreamed awards ceremony tomorrow, Thursday, November 29th from 2 to 4 p.m.

Finally, let me take this opportunity to thank you - our entire corps of staff - whose contributions, whether front and center or behind the scenes, are key to Berkeley’s greatness. While it is a time of immense change on our campus, I have great optimism and confidence that we will forge an exciting future for our institution, and that is because I have the utmost faith in our amazing and capable community of people.



Carol T. Christ
Individual Award Recipients:

Laura Adams, Summer Sessions, Study Abroad and Lifelong Learning

Kathryn Bader, Communications and Public Affairs

Alfred Day, Student Affairs Center for Support and Intervention

Tiff Dressen, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

Lupe Gallegos-Diaz, Division of Equity & Inclusion

Lin T. King, Facilities Services

Samantha Lubow, Residential and Student Service Programs

Adriana Martinez, CSS-HR

Stephanie Ngan, Office of Environmental Health and Safety

Shamaya Roneisha Pellum, College of Chemistry Undergraduate Advising

Emily Ufheil-Somers, Haas School of Business

Team Award Recipients:

CalNet Team

Karl R Grose

Brian Koehmstedt

Jeff McCullough

Veronica Ong

Summer Scanlan


CED-IIT Manager Team

Jeff Allen

Jill Martin

Patty Mead

Christopher K Palmer

Semar Prom

Elizabeth Thorp

Alex Warren


Cogeneration Plant Acquisition Team

Gilbert Escobar

Jerry Jimenez

Sara Shirazi


Jacobs Institute Maker Pass Staff

Amy Anh Hoang Dinh

Gary Gin

joey gottbrath

Chris Parsell

Mary Catherine Richardson

Roland Saekow

Kent Wilson


MyVoice Working Group

Andrew Eppig

Joy Evans

Mari Knuth-Bouracee

Amber Machamer

Amber Zeise


Pink Tank

Laura M. Alie

Elizabeth Aranda, PhD

Sam Byrd

Tony Cantu*

Don-Anthony Capone

Billy Curtis

Tova Feldmanstern

Sarah Gamble

meckell milburn

Tobirus Newby


Student Affairs and Cal Performances Student Events Staff

Robert Bean

Millicent Morris Chaney

Gabriella O'Halloran

Ginarose Perino

Marissa Valdez Reynoso

Jeff Woods


The Well

Takiyah Jackson*

Kiara Lee

meckell millburn


Workplace Health and Safety Video and eLearning Course Production Team

Roy A. Berke

Alisha Klatt

Jonathan Shainker

(*indicates that team member is ineligible due to appointment type)

Chancellor's Office