Native American Advisory Council


The board is composed of faculty, staff, and a graduate student who will apply their knowledge and experience to support efforts to inform and educate the campus community about Native issues more effectively, how we can improve tribal community outreach and communications, support Native community interests, and improve campus climate and campus experiences for Native people.

Council Members:

  • Dania Matos, Vice Chancellor for Equity & Inclusion
    Executive Sponsor
  • Fabrizio Mejia – Interim Chief of Staff/Assistant Vice Chancellor for Equity & Inclusion 
    Committee Staff

  • Phenocia Baurele – Director, Native American Student Development
  • Ataya Cesspooch - Graduate student,  ‎Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
  • Seth Davis – Professor of Law, Berkeley Law
  • Adina Lewis – Undergraduate student, Molecular Cell Biology
  • Patrick Naranjo - Program Director, American Indian Graduate Program 

  • Beth Piatote – Associate Professor, Native American Studies; Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Literature 
  • Carolyn Smith - Chancellor's Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Ethnic Studies
  • Kristin Theis-Alvarez – Associate Director and Dean of Admissions