The LGBTQ Citizenship Cluster focuses on the discriminatory and disparate treatment of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and queer (LGBTQ) people in our society, paying particular attention to how issues of sexual orientation and gender identity intersect with class, race, nationality, gender, age and disability.


Russell Robinson
Distinguished Cluster Chair of LGBTQ Citizenship and Professor, School of Law

“Far too often, research and activism on sexual orientation fixate on the experiences of relatively affluent white gay men, even as they claim to represent the entire LGBT community. The faculty members who formed the LGBTQ Cluster came together to offer an alternative, more inclusive approach to issues of sexual orientation and gender identity. I am painfully aware that I cannot disentangle my race from my sexual orientation, my gender, or my religious faith—and we cannot disentangle these issues from our research.”

-Russell Robinson


Kathryn Abrams
Berkeley School of Law
Mel Y. Chen
Gender and Women's Studies
Lawrence Cohen
Michael Lucey
French and Comparative Literature
Melissa Murray
Berkeley School of Law
Beth Piatote
Native American Studies
Juana María Rodríguez
Gender and Women's Studies
Darieck Scott
African American Studies
Leti Volpp
Berkeley School of Law